Units of Competency – Course Structure

Course Structure – Certificate IV in Bookkeeping (FNS40215)

Many Registered Training providers still offer Bookkeeping courses that are mapped to the old Financial Services Training Package (FNS04).

IBI Bookkeeping courses are mapped to the new FNS10 Financial Services Training Package

The IBI Bookkeeping course Certificate is structured to satisfy the BAS Agent education al requirements and consists of the following units that are

  1. core
  2. elective

Certificate IV in Bookkeeping – Units of Competency

Core units of competency:

  • BSBFIA401A Prepare financial reports
  • BSBITU306A Design and produce business documents
  • BSBOHS303B Contribute to OHS hazard identification and risk assessment
  • FNSBKG401A Develop and implement policies and procedures relevant to bookkeeping activities
  • FNSBKG402A Establish and maintain a cash accounting system
  • FNSBKG403A Establish and maintain an accrual accounting system
  • FNSBKG404A Carry out business activity and instalment activity statement tasks
  • FNSBKG405A Establish and maintain a payroll system
  • FNSINC401A Apply principles of professional practice to work in the financial services industry

Elective units of competency:

  1. BSBITU402A Develop and use complex spreadsheets
  2. FNSACC303A Perform financial calculations
  3. FNSACC404A Prepare financial statements for non-reporting entities
  4. FNSACC405A Maintain inventory records

This Certificate IV in Bookkeeping course contains 13 Units of Competency including the BAS Agent Skill Set units required by the Tax Practitioners Board from February 2012. Clicking on the links below will open the full description of that Unit of Competency as provided on the Training.gov.au website.